top of page

Interview With Leah Voysey (Terrifer 2)



For those who don't know (I think everyone knows) Leah Voysey is the the host at the Clown Café from Terrifier 2. She is also the voice that sang the song that stays stuck in our brains. Besides taking on an epic role that we all know and love she also portrayed a nurse at the end of the film and was part of the now infamous "birth scene". A talented voiceover artist, gamer, and streamer Leah is about as well rounded as you can be. She was kind enough to take some time to answer a few questions that you can find below.


Interview


Q. Since you are well versed in acting on camera and voiceover work which is harder to do in your opinion and why?

A. I think that on camera acting is definitely harder. I just record voiceover from the comfort of my home (and usually in my pjs). For on camera, I have to go to set, get in hair and makeup, and then perform the same scene over and over again. I love both though, and they are rewarding in their own ways.


Q. How did you get involved/start your production company Late Bloomers Pictures?

A. My company partner, Marisa, and I have been writing and making films together for a few years. Then one day we decided we really wanted our own production company name attached to projects, because we wanted people to associate that name with our mission - namely giving voices to people in the queer community.


Q. Your Twitch stream has a large amount of horror games. My favorite in that genre has to be the Resident Evil series. If you had to choose which game would be your favorite?

A. So I actually recently bought a bundle of the Resident Evil games, but I haven’t really had the opportunity to play through them yet. I hear 4 is AMAZING and I am really excited to get my hands on them. But my favorite game is The Last of Us. And I am so stoked it is getting so much new attention with the HBO show coming out soon.


Q. A new horror based game has just been released, The Devil in Me. Survive the murder hotel type of game. Have you seen it? Can we expect you to stream this if you have?

A. 100%. Supermassive Games is definitely my most played game company. I just love how you can replay their games and get different endings. I’ve actually already played The Devil in Me…and killed everyone… So you can bet I will have another go at it.


Q. The first episode of It’s All Geek to Me podcast was released in April 2022. In 33 episodes (under 1 year) you have managed a 4.9 rating which is no easy task. Was this podcast started for geeky goodness without expectations of being so popular?

A. I was surprised how quickly it got popular! Only because it’s not very easy to market a podcast. But it is one of my favorite pieces of content I put out there and I really hope it can grow over the years. We actually just launched our YouTube channel a few days ago!


Q. How did you end up with not one but two parts in Terrifier 2 (Clown Café host and nurse)?

A. I actually originally auditioned for the roles of Brooke and Allie. But months later Jason Leavy, the casting director, called me again for the Clown Café because he knew I sang, and I landed the role! The nurse came months and months later when Damien had the idea of throwing a little Easter egg into the film, and I am so grateful for that added opportunity.


Q. Is it a surreal moment when a song you performed in a film is being talked about for awards?

A. It’s extremely surreal. And people constantly ask me if I am sick of the song yet, and the answer is, absolutely no. I love it just as much as everyone else.


Q. Post filming did you ever imagine that the Clown Café song would be an instant cult classic in the horror world?

A. Oh yeah, I knew people would go nuts for it.


Q. The infamous birth scene at the end of Terrifier 2 has basically hit legendary status already. It basically sums up everything savage when it comes to horror. Was filming a scene at that level of gore difficult to film?

A. Honestly, gore doesn’t gross me out at all. The worst part for me was the screaming. I remember I had a voiceover job the next day, so it was stressful worrying about losing my voice.


Q. What were your initial thoughts on Terrifer 2 and your parts specifically after watching the film for the first time?

A. I knew it was going to be amazing, and it was even better than I expected.


Q. As we all know Terrifier 3 will pick up where part 2 left off which is a great thing. Can we assume that you will also be in that film seeing how part 2 ended?

A. Who’s to say…..


Q. Million dollar question. I had read that 2 people figured out the true meaning of the Clown Café “dream”. I was not one of them. Do you have the answer to what that scene meant and why it is significant?

A. So now that the blu-rays are out and people know the answer, I never would have guessed. I think Damien said it was a sort of divine test that Sienna needed to pass in order to take Art down in the final moments of the film. I think that’s so cool.


Q. What is your favorite horror film (besides Terrifier 2)?

A. Thirteen Ghosts holds a special place in my heart. And Jennifer’s Body.


Q. What is your favorite non horror film?

A. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy. I refuse to just choose one.


Q. If you could have done any role in any movie made to date, which would it be and why?

A. You know, growing up I always wanted to be a “Bond Girl.” But now that I am an adult, fuck that. I want to be James Bond.


Please take a moment to watch a clip of the Clown Café scene below.

I would really like to thank Leah for taking the time to answer a few questions. I am certain that she is extremely busy with the multiple venture she is involved in so her time is appreciated. If you enjoyed the interview please like and share. Thank you for taking the time to read.


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page