top of page

Review: Bonehead Beard Care Kit (Bonus interview with Donald Craddock Jr.)



For the bearded community, we know beard care is a must. It doesn't just grow, look good, and need no maintenance. A beard kit is a must have for keeping your beard and the skin under it in good condition. The problem is there are about a million different beard kits that promise all of these spectacular things. I was set on my beard care regiment for a long time until I came across the Bonehead Beard Care Kit. I was attending Monster Mania Con and found the brand while browsing through the sea of vendors. Donald (owner) was the reason I stopped at the table to begin with. Such a great dude. Below you will find a review of the products in the kit and then a short rapid fire interview with Donald about his brand.


Review

Bonehead Beard Care has some great scents. Let's be realistic. Even the best oils and butter are nothing unless they smell good. You have to smell it all day and so do folks around you (that are close enough).


I purchased my kit at Monster Mania Con. It came packed into a nifty little mini crate. It also came with all the right things you need to start your beard care journey. Beard oil (in a bad ass skull bottle), beard butter, Soap with webbed soap holder, Beard brush, beard comb, and 2 guitar pics to use on the butter. It also came with a t-shirt which was branded and very cool.


One thing that stood out to me about the beard oil is it is not greasy. After you get it on your beard and rub it in your hands are not covered and oily. Not sure exactly how that works but it does. I truly enjoy this oil. Smells great and seems to stay for a good amount of time. The butter has the same qualities. You do not need a ton of it either. Using both products together not only makes your beard soft it also keeps the skin underneath hydrated. Anyone who has had dry skin under the beard can understand that one. It sucks. The soap has a great smell and is not overly strong. Sometimes the smell is excessive. Another thing that I noticed and liked is how the smells match. Sometimes you buy a brand and they are all the same scent until you use them. There is a difference. That is not the case here. The smells sync up perfectly. The beard comb is standard. That is how it should be. The brush its4elf is very nice. It is soft enough to not scratch you or be uncomfortable, but stiff enough to not fall apart or not actually brush anything. Overall Bonehead Beard Care will have a permanent spot in my beard care rotation.



Rapid Fire Interview with Donald Craddock Jr.

Q. What separates your brand from others? Ingredients? Differences?

A. I use hemp oil as a base, because it’s a a close to your natural skin oil as you can get. I use no filler oils (IE: grape seed oil, vitamins e oil or coconut oil).

Q. When did you create this brand and why?

A. My friends pushed me to start my company because my scents were different and worked better than the stuff they we’re using. Q. What is your favorite scent out of the ones you make?

A. Old bones is my favorite, It’s my OG.

Q. I really like the beard oil bottles (skull shape) why did you pick that?

A. I use the skull bottle because it matches my branding and they stick out.

Q. Do you attend any other conventions other than monster mania?

A. I’ve done 52 shows this year. From bike nights at Harley Dealerships, tattoo festivals (staring a pro team in the spring, five bearded artists), balloon festivals, car shows, bike weeks and the Monster-Con was my first Con.


Donald is a one man army with this brand. He puts his all into the brand and it shows. He does small batch manufacturing and does not out source production. He also maintains a full time job at the hospital. He is overly appreciative of every single customer that chooses to spend their hard earned money with him. A link to his site can be found below:


34 views0 comments
bottom of page